2022WRCH LW2- AC election

For the first time ever, World Rowing athletes had the opportunity to elect members of the World Rowing Athletes’ Commission at the 2022 World Rowing Championships in Racice, Czech Republic.

The Athletes’ Commission (AC) serves to represent active elite rowers and to act as a liaison between World Rowing and the elite athlete community, concerning any issues affecting the sport of Rowing. Members serve a four-year term, with the nomination and election process taking place in the 2nd year following the Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The AC is composed of ten (10) members, who are Active Athletes or Recently Retired Athletes, of which 5 would be elected and 5 appointed by the council. The mandate of the 10 members starts on 1 January 2023 for a 4 year period.

Of the 5 seats which are elected, 4 athletes (with 1 position reserved for para rowing) representing the classic or so called flatwater rowing were to be elected at the World Rowing Championships in Racice. All participating athletes (including spares) with an accreditation were allowed to choose up to four candidates from a list of 20.

A total of 547 athletes casted their votes over four days. The four athletes elected are Emma Twigg of New Zealand, Mindaugas Griskonis of Lithuania, Niels Van Zandweghe of Belgium and Benjamin Pritchard of Great Britain.

The election for the 5th position who will represent the coastal rowing discipline will take place next month during the 2022 World Rowing Coastal Championships and Beach Sprint Finals in Pembrokeshire, Wales.

The elected representatives will have the opportunity to voice their ideas and concerns within the commission. The commission chair – who will be further appointed by the Council – will sit on the World Rowing Council and Executive Committee.